What are Waiver Services?

Medicaid Waiver programs help provide services to people who would otherwise be in an institution, nursing home, or hospital to receive long-term care in the community. Prior to 1991, the Federal Medicaid program paid for services only if a person lived in an institution.

Waiver Information



Eligibility Requirements:

A person must have a full scale I.Q. score below 70; the individual must demonstrate significant or substantial functional limitations in three or more of the following major life activities: self-care, receptive and expressive language, learning, self-direction, mobility, and capacity for independent living all occurring prior to the age of 18.


To begin the waiver process, you must first call the Department of Mental Health Call Center at 1-800-361-4491. This referral will then be sent to the county in which the individual resides. The Intake Coordinator will then contact the family to schedule an intake appointment to obtain necessary documentation to complete the waiting list application. The application is then sent to the Department of Mental Health, Region One Community Services who will then determine eligibility. If the individual is approved, they are then added to the state wide waiting list.


Intellectual Disabilities Waiver:

Purpose: To provide services to individuals that would otherwise require the level of care available in an ICF/MR (intermediate care facility for the mentally retarded) facility.


Services Provided: Residential Habilitation, Day Habilitation, Prevocational Services. Supported Employment Individual Job Coach. Individual Job Developer, Occupational Therapy, Speech and Language Therapy, Physical Therapy, BehaviorTherapy, In-Home Respite Care, Out-of-Home Respite Care, Institutional Respite Care. Personal Care, Personal Care on Worksite, Personal Care Transportation, Environment Accessibility Adaptations. Specialized Medical Supplies, Skilled Nursing. Adult Companion Services. Crisis Intervention, and Community Specialist.


Groups that are eligible: Individuals receiving SSI, SSI related protected groups deemed to be eligible for SSI/Medicaid, Special HCBS waiver disabled individuals whose income is not greater than 300% of the SSI Federal Benefit Rate. Low Income Families with Children, and Federal or State Adoption Subsidy Individuals.


Enrollment Limit: There are 5,260 slots in Alabama; Madison County currently has approximately 290 slots.



Living at Home Waiver:

The LAH wavier is very similar to the Intellectual Disabilities Waiver with the following exceptions. There is a $25.000.00 cap on the services an individual can receive if on the LAH wavier. The individual cannot be residing in a group home setting or environment. The services provided do NOT include Residential Habilitation, Institutional Respite Care, or Adult Companion Services.


Enrollment Limit: There are 569 slots in Alabama; Madison County currently has approximately 30 slots.



**Services that are provided under the waiver are not necessarily provided in Madison County. All waiver services must be approved by the Department of Mental Health. 

There is a plan and a purpose, a value to every life, no matter what its location, age, gender or disability.


       -Sharron Angle

  • Facebook B&W